Skip to content

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

July 15, 2009

I know what you’re thinking, yet another cookie recipe. I won’t deny that I love baking cookies just because they are easy, familiar and tasty. There are so many different types of cookies out there, not including simple variations on classic recipes, that I could probably bake one type of cookie a day for a year and still have many, many recipes still to make. In fact, I would be quite content dedicating this blog entirely to cookies and wouldn’t have a difficult time finding new recipes to try. This certainly isn’t the first cookie recipe on the blog, and it definitely won’t be last  (though it may very well be the best so far).

I’ve made peanut butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies, oatmeal cookies, and chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. All were delicious so when I saw that this recipe combined peanut butter, chocolate chips and oatmeal into one cookie I knew I had to try it. And I am definitely glad that I did as this is probably one of the best cookie recipes I’ve had the pleasure of finding and baking. You can’t really go wrong when all three of those classic ingredients are found in one cookie, can you?

Peanut butter and chocolate is, of course, a classic pairing. Add in the oatmeal to give these cookies a heartier texture that complements the peanut butter and you have a cookie that is not only a mouthful to say, but also a mouthful of delicious melt-in-your-mouth goodness. These cookies are very soft and moist but the oatmeal prevents them from being too soft and boring in your mouth. If you’re a peanut butter lover or a chocolate lover or a peanut butter and chocolate lover give these cookies a try — it is a must!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, from AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

2.  In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, white sugar and peanut butter until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Combine the flour, wheat flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the peanut butter mixture. Finally, mix in the oats and chocolate chips. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

3.  Bake for 8 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are golden. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

Notes

For once, a cookie recipe I don’t have to halve! I baked these cookies and followed the recipe exactly except that I didn’t have whole wheat flour so I simply used one whole cup of regular all-purpose flour. They don’t spread too much so you can fit quite a few on one baking sheet. These cookies also come out of the oven very soft, so be sure to let them cool on the sheet for several minutes before attempting to remove or they’ll just crumble and fall apart.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 9:00 PM

    You can never have too many cookies. Anything with chocolate is a guaranteed hit.

  2. July 16, 2009 12:58 PM

    Oh wow, these sound amazing! I love chocolate & peanut butter combos, and I love oatmeal too, and the recipe looks really good! Great post! :D

  3. July 20, 2009 1:20 AM

    These sound great. Do you think natural peanut butter would work?

    • Huy permalink*
      July 20, 2009 8:17 PM

      Kate,

      Yes, I actually used natural peanut butter myself when I made them. They are really great cookies! I hope you enjoy the them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

