Skip to content

Dark Chocolate Truffles

December 19, 2008

I had a lot of trouble figuring out holiday presents for everyone this year.  Books are always a thoughtful gift but it’s hard to find the perfect one for each person on your list.  Other gifts based on inside jokes are good too, but sometimes it’s hard to translate into something you’d buy.  And then there’s always the budget.  You want to buy the best gift but don’t necessarily want to spend too much.

So, on a last minute whim, I decided to bake something for my friends.  But then there was the question of what to make for each of them.  I wasn’t exactly keen on baking three or four different batches of cookies for each person so I settled on something universally loved by all (even if they don’t like it):  chocolate!

Truffles are such a nice treat and will definitely satisfy even the worse chocolate cravings.  These melt in your mouth (and hands!) and are light on the tongue yet are still rich and decadent.  I filled up some extra wine glasses I had with three or four of these truffles, tied on a ribbon, and checked off my entire gift list!

Dark Chocolate Truffles

Dark Chocolate Truffles, from Allchocolate.com

Ingredients

12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup heavy cream
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup cocoa powder, sifted

Directions

1.  Line an 8-inch square baking pan with two pieces of aluminum foil, letting the foil extend over all sides by about 2 inches.

2.  Melt the chocolate with the cream and salt in a large heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of about 1 1/2 inches of nearly simmering water, whisking until smooth. Remove the bowl from the heat and whisk in the vanilla.

3.  Pour the chocolate mixture into the prepared pan, spread it evenly with a rubber spatula, and let cool. Refrigerate, tightly covered, for about 3 hours, or until firm.

4.  Invert the foil on a cutting board and carefully remove the foil. Dip a sharp heavy knife into hot water, wipe it thoroughly dry, and cut the truffles into 36 squares, rewarming the knife as necessary. If the truffle mixture gets too soft, return it to the refrigerator to firm. Arrange the
truffles in a single layer on a platter. Refrigerate, uncovered, for 1 hour.

5.  Place the cocoa in a small shallow bowl. Toss the truffles a few at a time in the cocoa to coat, then shake them to remove any excess cocoa; transfer to another plate. Refrigerate the truffles, covered, for at least 1 hour before serving. If necessary, toss them again in cocoa to coat. The truffles can be refrigerated for up to 3 days. Serve at room temperature. You might pack them, layered between sheets of waxed paper, in a tin.  Makes 3 dozen truffles.  Serve at room temperature.

Notes

The higher the percentage on the bar, the more intense the chocolate flavor.  Bars labeled simply as bittersweet, semisweet or dark can be used in any recipe calling for chocolate of less than 70% cacao.

These were rather difficult to make and I can definitely see why people usually just buy them or only make them on special occasions.  Despite chilling them in the refrigerator as directed and even longer, the chocolate still melted almost instantly during molding.  I continually washed my hands with cold water in between each truffle to keep them from melting.

I rolled these in crushed, slivered almonds or cocoa powder.  For some I even added a little ball of almonds in the middle.  I definitely appreciated the texture of the ones rolled in almonds but that’s entirely preferential.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 9:17 PM

    I am just in the middle of making these today! Not quite the same recipe, but close (mine calls for both milk and semi-sweet chocolate).

    Anyway, I say “in the middle of” because I got so tired of molding that I stuck the bowl back in the fridge and I’ll finish later. I’m also struggling with the chocolate melting almost instantly…it’s quite frustrating!

    I did sample one though and they’re good…so I guess it’s worth it. Oh, and I love your idea of an almond in the middle…if I had any on hand I would be doing the same thing. Sounds good!

  2. December 19, 2008 11:08 PM

    These look so rich and decadent! I’ve never made truffles but I think I’m going to have to after seeing these. I fully support the use of semi-sweet over milk chocolate any day 🙂

  3. December 20, 2008 12:36 AM

    best christmas present ever. thanks again, huy. ❤

  4. sanone permalink
    December 31, 2008 1:57 AM

    truffles + almonds = heaven

    They look amazing!

Leave a Reply

