Skip to content

Pizza Bites

July 10, 2009

I have to admit that I am one of those people who enjoys the pizza dough a little bit more than the toppings sometimes. In my opinion, the dough can either make or break a pizza in most cases and for me, it’s biting into the chewy and warm crust at the edge of the pizza that defines the pizza-eating process. You can top a pizza with all the best toppings in the world, but if the dough is tough or soggy, then you might as well use the worst because the pizza just won’t be good.

And then there’s always that last “golden bite” of pizza at the end with the perfect ratio of crust to cheese to topping to sauce that is perhaps, even better than the first. The dough is definitely the foundation for a great pizza; with a sound and tasty base, the toppings are given the best chance to showcase all their flavors as well.

This recipe, for a crust lover like me, is wonderful. What better than cheesy bits of mozzarella and pepperoni (or whatever “toppings” you prefer to turn into fillings) encased in a warm and steaming ball of dough? The topping is crunchy and fragrant with a mix of parsley, basil and parmesan cheese. When dipped into some warm marinara sauce, every little bite of this recipe becomes that last “golden bite” of pizza we all look forward in the end.

Pizza Bites

Pizza Bites

Pizza Bites, adapted from this recipe

Ingredients

1 bag of prepared pizza dough (from Trader Joe’s)
1 cup of mozzarella (shredded or cut into cubes)
1/2 cup of thin pepperoni slices, cut into small pieces
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon red chile flakes
1/4 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
Marinara sauce, for dipping

Pizza Bites

Pizza Bites

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Prepare pizza dough according to directions. Lightly coat a baking or casserole dish with olive oil.

2. Pinch off about 1-inch balls of dough and flatten slightly, filling the middle with desired amount of mozzarella and pepperoni. Wrap dough around filling and roll into a ball, placing in baking dish seam-side down. Repeat with remaining dough.

3. Combine garlic, parsley, oregano, and red chile flakes in olive oil and brush or drizzle over the pizza bites in the baking dish. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

4. Bake in oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until top is nicely browned. Makes about 16 pizza bites. Serve with warm marinara sauce on the side for dipping.

Notes

You can, of course, substitute in any type of “toppings” you want instead of mozzarella and pepperoni. Sausages might be a good idea, and if using vegetables like onions, green peppers or mushrooms, it might be a good idea to sauté them a little before using as the filling.

This recipe smells great while baking and the sizzling of the dough as it comes out of the oven in the olive oil is wonderful. Be careful to keep a good ratio of filling to dough as you don’t want the bites to be too doughy. You want pizza bites, not pizza sticks!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 5:48 PM

    Yummm… Looks so tasteful! Full of flavors!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    July 10, 2009 9:08 PM

    that looks amazing…..

  3. July 10, 2009 10:59 PM

    These look amazing. I agree that the pizza is all about the dough, you should try to make your own (if you haven’t already :). I am sure these are even better with freshly made dough.

  4. TasteStopping permalink
    July 11, 2009 10:17 AM

    Even though I make pizzas a few times a month, I still haven’t mastered the art of creating a thin and consistent crust. This idea will help solve that! Plus, I think it’s a recipe that my kids will enjoy, because they can put whatever fillings in it they want and I can tailor my pizza bites to my tastes!

    Anyway, I found you through TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  5. July 11, 2009 12:29 PM

    Those pizza bites look so good!

  6. July 11, 2009 11:10 PM

    Yeah, homemade pizza is great! Try Reinhart’s (for thinner crust) or the copycat Pizza Hut (thicker crust) dough.

    Your pizza bites look really good! I have some homemade dough (the pizza hut one) defrosting in the refrigerator right now because I saw these on another site a couple of days ago. Thanks for reminding me with this post!

  7. Elodie permalink
    July 12, 2009 5:55 AM

    Mmmm, those are so good. I’ve made them a few times from the original recipe. If you have a choice definitely do NOT go for shredded cheese! It is *so* much easier to close the dough around a cube of cheese than fight with the shredded cheese trying to get out.

  8. Forrester McLeod permalink
    July 12, 2009 5:31 PM

    Oh! I’m becomming accustomed to clicking on titles that turn out to be something entirely different than they appear to be, so I clicked this thinking I was going to land inside yet another techno site that I wish to God I could understand….

    And lo and behold!

    You’re actually talking about pizza! And you shop at Trader Joe’s.

    My mouth is watering…..

    Thank You!

  9. July 14, 2009 8:17 PM

    Great idea! They look awesome!

  10. July 15, 2009 8:59 PM

    We’d eat the entire thing in one bite.

  11. TasteStopping permalink
    July 18, 2009 6:23 PM

    Hi Huy,

    Thanks so much for your recent comment at TasteStopping. It was great to hear such positive feedback.

    I am visiting your site again, to print out this recipe for our dinner tonight! I have had it on my mind since the last time I visited, and I have to say I breathed a sigh of relief when I read that your recipe calls for Trader Joe’s pizza dough. That’s exactly what I have! (Although I love the idea of making it from scratch, it’s not always practical with my schedule.) I think my kids will have fun putting these together with me, too.

    Thanks again, for both the comment and the recipe!

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  12. August 19, 2009 10:32 PM

    These look amazing. I’m definitely going to try them this week. Thanks for the recipe!

  13. August 21, 2009 2:00 PM

    I made these last night and they were delicious and very addictive. Can’t wait to make them again!

  14. May 27, 2010 8:49 PM

    We are going to try this at our next pizza night! I will make sure to blog about it. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. It’s a miracle… maybe??? « Bake.Eat.Run.
  3. Journey to the End of the World — And Back « Everyday Adventures
  4. The Healthy Student » Blog Archive » A Rainy Day Recipe: Pizza Rolls 2 of 2

Leave a Reply

