Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

March 21, 2010

I can’t believe it’s been so long, time flies during senior year! My unintended hiatus from food blogging was due to several reasons. One of which is eating out more often than I did before. Not because I enjoy cooking any less but, with it being my last semester and all, going out with friends has become more important. My dorm kitchen, too, is also another reason; it’s small and slightly cramped and I don’t really enjoy cooking in it and avoid it when I can. But, I think, most importantly, staying on top of school work and looking for jobs (or just one) while balancing a social life tires you out too much to whip out the camera before diving into whatever yummy thing you’ve just made.

Things are gradually slowing down though, so hopefully I can get back into the blogging that I enjoyed so much before. And what better recipe to start off with than possibly my most favorite baked good, the chocolate chip banana muffin.  Perfectly sweet, wonderfully fluffy, spectacularly chocolately, and simply delicious, I make these muffins about every week. These are slightly altered from my previous Banana Bread recipe.

I’ve been considering my relationship with food lately and it’s become more important for me to eat healthier. This is my first attempt at baking without eggs where a recipe calls for them. The substitution is perfect and I can say with confidence, that I may never go back to baking with eggs for this particular recipe!

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins, altered from Ina Garten’s Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup whole milk
1 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2 bananas)
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 9 large muffin cups with paper liners.

2. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Add the melted butter and blend.

3. Combine the mashed bananas, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon, and add them to the flour-and-butter mixture. Scrape the bowl and blend well. Don’t overmix.

4. Fold chocolate chips into the batter. Spoon the batter into the paper liners, filling each 1 to the top.

5. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until the tops are brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool slightly, remove from the pan, and serve. Makes about 9 large muffins.

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

 

Notes

My go-to recipe, slightly altered. The omission of eggs did not affect the final result at all; these muffins taste exactly the same, texture and deliciousness. To make them vegan, just use certain brands of margarine instead, like Earth Balance. Milk can be substituted with soy milk, of course!

As for the chocolate chips, make sure the ones you get are dairy-free, whey-free and casein-free for them to be considered vegan. Most chocolate chip brands aren’t marketed as vegan so just check the label; Trader Joe’s dark chocolate chips are actually vegan. I like to sprinkle the tops of the muffin before popping them into the oven with a few chocolate chips. It gives the muffin a picture-perfect, bakery-esque look to them! Plus, more chocolate never hurt anyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte permalink
    November 27, 2010 3:08 AM

    I made this recipe, and I liked it a lot! I used whole wheat flour instead of white, which doesn’t taste too bad to me. I also added three (1 1/2 cups of) bananas, and it tastes even more banana-y! I was wondering if you might consider adding more spices to the recipe, Huy. I didn’t try it, but maybe some nutmeg or cloves?

Leave a Reply

